[Awkward and Awesome Thursday] On moving out, and the awkward stuff I’ve been saving.

I am spending the day packing so I can move tomorrow and I’m SO EXCITED. This is by no means my first time moving, as I did spend 4 years in Texas in which I moved every May like clockwork. This is however the first time I’m actually completely moving out of my room in the parent’s house. When I went to college, I kept most of my stuff here in Colorado which means there is years worth of stuff to go through. I’m not a hoarder, but I definitely have a penchant for keeping things with so-called “sentimental” value. But now is time to finally clean and declutter it all so we can paint the ugly walls (see below for details on that) and my parents can have a guest room. It is quite the task sorting through about 12 years of accumulated crap and it has been filled with many discoveries that are simultaneously awkward AND awesome.

*here is a snapshot of my walls, just to give you an idea of how long it has been since this room has been updated…
How I ever manage to fall asleep in there is a grand mystery, but I thought the lime green and yellow was just oh-so-cool. And coincidentally the colors of my high school. Golden eagles forever! ha. What an awkward choice.

*a sample of just a few of the weird/embarrassing things I found that I’ve been saving that show just how big of a dork I really am….

-a happy meal toy and box from Prague (why is this necessary to have?)
-tickets from every concert I’ve been to (including an embarrassing amount of tickets for both New Found Glory and Relient K)
-my pins from Destination Imagination (I can’t even begin to explain the hilarious phenomenon that is DI pin trading or DI in general but know this- it really is as dorky as it sounds)
-all the homemade shirts from over the years, including a Relient K shirt that says “We love skittles and combos too!”. totally awkward. and awesome since Karen and Casey have matching ones somewhere. Here is a homemade “Harry and the Potters” shirt as an example of our awesome shirt making skills:

*that awkward moment when I found a ridiculous mask and have literally no idea where it came from or why I was saving it:

*I have no idea why I still have this box:
but it is filled with notes/notebooks from middle school that capture our angst, so I feel like I should still keep it….

There are some hilarious gems in those notes/notebooks about out apparent love affairs, wearing guys watches, what awesome plans we have for Friday night… we thought we were SOOOO cool.

*the reminders of just how much of a theatre nerd I was….

I saved every single poster, from School House Rock freshman year to my final written musical senior year:

Along with all those are the coinciding tshirts and thespian conference swag, my choir and theatre letters/pins, Madrigal Feast props, a train whistle from Music Man, and boxes and boxes of photos. totally hilarious.

So there you have it… a sample of the many simultaneously awkward + awesome things found in my room. Embarrassingly, this barely cracks the surface. Just in case you may have been starting to think I’m cool… ha.

How about you…. What awkward/awesome things have you been saving from middle and high school?

3 thoughts on “[Awkward and Awesome Thursday] On moving out, and the awkward stuff I’ve been saving.

  1. My room was yellow like that, with a rainbow fan! It was pretty awkward when I showed it to Matt! I got rid of all my angsty middle school stuff too, and just remember it through the filter of my mind. Congrats on moving out, and good luck!

  2. ha ha oh the things we choose to keep…I like the post. I think everyone can relate to this 🙂 Nice bright walls! I don’t think I would have been able to sleep but I doubt I could have been angry very often in that room lol.

Leave a Reply

