[Thrifty Tuesday] Thrift Store + Home Depot = Amazing Home Projects.

I’m in the process of finding a new place and will be moving on or before May 1 with Jordan and two great friends of ours. While we make our plans and look at new places I can’t help but dream up all the crafty things we’re going to do with our new space. For today’s edition of “Thrifty Tuesday”, I bring you three of the projects I’ve been dreaming of making. All of these can be made using thrifted items and a few items from home depot.

*THIS awesome bookshelf turned bar via Apartment Therapy:

This one would definitely not be a quick project but the end result is pretty incredible for a pretty small cost. There is so much room for uniqueness too- from the paint choice to the contact paper. I really want one of these!

THESE adorable chairs via “Fine Diving Chicago”:

I already have two perfect chairs for this project. They are red dining chairs that Jordan found discarded in the alley and they are in serious need of love. This project would really make them unique and fun! If you wanted to make these, there are always a plethora of mismatched chairs at thrift stores just waiting for some paint and fun.

THIS lace lamp via More Design Please:

Unfortunately the link to the instructions seems to be broken, but it seems easy enough by the photo. Basically, the lamp is made by paper mache-ing a balloon with lace doilies + wallpaper glue. You could easily find some vintage lace at a thrift store and the light portion can be found for 4 dollars at ikea.

There are many other projects I love, but these are the three I actually intend on making.

What crafty home projects have you been inspired by lately?

3 thoughts on “[Thrifty Tuesday] Thrift Store + Home Depot = Amazing Home Projects.

    • I love your bed- so many lack tables! ha. I love Ikea hacker- I haven’t had a chance to do any of my own hacks but it definitely gives me some great ideas!

      I’m not very knowledgeable on furniture stores in Denver. I can’t remember the last time I even bought new furniture of any sort…. I’ve honestly been relying on the same mixture of things from Ikea/thrift stores/garage sales/hand me downs since I left for college. Sorry I can’t be more of a help in that area.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  1. I think when it comes to anythig you do, plan a wedding, redecorate a house, make a movie, etc. this golden rule setup is masterful.

    3 Wants:
    I want it now!
    I want it cheap!
    I want it to be perfect!
    * You only get two of the three. Ever!

    If you think about it, use it, stress over it, it’s really just that simple. I love it.

Leave a Reply

