[Music Monday] Take me out to the ball game!

Saturday it was 80 degrees and sunny. Springtime is officially here- flowers are sprouting, birds are singing, and patios are opening. The arrival of spring has always and will always mean one thing in my world: BASEBALL SEASON. Don’t get me wrong, I love many things about spring time but baseball is the best. To me, it doesn’t get much better than sitting in the sunshine enjoying a hot dog and a cold beer cheering on the Rockies.

I became a Rockies fan during the very first season when I was five years old and ever since then I’ve spent most of my winter counting down to baseball season. If you ask my dad he’ll tell you when I was kid I wanted to be “the big cat” (Andres Galarraga) when I grew up. I would play catch in my grandma and grandpa’s back yard and dream of my future as a Rockie. While I know now that dream will never come to fruition because I’m equal parts not athletic and not male, I still like to think about what songs I would pick for my big WALK UP SONG.

The walk up song is one of the intangible characteristics that separates the players in my mind. You can be the best hitter on the team but if your walk up song is something stupid like Nickleback (I’m looking at you, Brad Hawpe) I’m probably going to care less when you step up to the plate. It is shallow, but true. A player’s music choice is something that humanizes them and draws fans even closer.

I have spent many moments while at games with friends discussing what we would choose for our walk up song. While there are many great options out there, for me it always comes back to one song. If I was a baseball player, my walk up song would hands down be…

This is the song I always come back to. It has an amazing beat… and with words like these, how could you not have a good at bat?

She’s a Killer Queen
Gunpowder, guillotine
Dynamite with a laser beam
Guaranteed to blow your mind
Anytime

What song would you choose for your walk up song?

While you’re thinking, remember to participate in PURPLE MONDAYS this season…..

http://mlb.mlb.com/shared/video/embed/embed.html?content_id=20150657&width=400&height=224&property=mlb

Go Rockies!

Leave a Reply

