“Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus.”

Sorry to keep diverging from Awkward+Awesome Thursday. I keep seeing this video, and I feel the need to share it along with a few other awesome things that sum up my own feelings on the subject…


“I think I’ve lost hope in the church,” I confessed, broken hearted, to a friend. I will never forget her response. “No, you haven’t lost hope in the church. You may have lost hope in Christianity of Christendom, or all the institutions, but you haven’t lost hope in the church. This is the church.” At that moment, we decided to stop complaining about the church that we saw, and we set our hearts on becoming the church we dreamed of.

Another friend says to Claiborne: “Shane, I am not a Christian anymore. I gave up Christianity in order to follow Jesus.”
-The Irresistible Revolution, Shane Claiborne

Leave a Reply

