[Music Monday] Albums To Watch For

Now that everyone has wrapped up their Best of 2011 lists, it is time to get excited for what 2012 will bring us. I know it is only the 9th day of the year, but details have been released for some pretty exciting albums! Here are just a few albums to watch for…

January 24: Craig Finn (of The Hold Steady) – Clear Heart Full Eye
I was unsure how to feel about this- Craig Finn stripped down without the rest of The Hold Steady sounds like a bad idea. But then I saw THIS on The AV Club… I am absolutely in love with what I hear and I really hope the rest is just as amazing.

February 7: Ben Kweller- Go Fly A Kite
There are some artists who have voices that always calm you down and make you feel like everything is going to be alright with the world. BK is one of those for me. His four other albums are great, but this one is notable because it is his first to be self-released on his new label.

***also notable on Feb. 7- Of Montreal- Paralytic Stalks

February 21: Cursive- I Am Gemini
It is no secret that I love Saddle Creek, the Omaha music scene, and everyone attached… so when I heard Cursive was coming out with a new album I was pretty stoked. I have loved their past releases, especially Happy Hollow, but this album seems like it might have a new sound. Just check out this catchy track. Intriguing. Make sure to check them out on February 12 at the Larimer Lounge.

***Also notable on Feb. 21- Sleigh Bells- Reign of Terror

March 20: The Shins- Port of Morrow 

It has been FIVE years since a Shins album and I know that I for one have been longing for some new material from them. I really haven’t heard anything about the album, but come on have you heard the Shins? It will be amazing.

And remember this…

It will change your life, I SWEAR.

***Also notable in March: Andrew Bird- Break it Yourself (March 6)

Artists I like who are releasing albums in 2012, but haven’t released specific details…
*No Doubt
*John Mayer
*The Avett Brothers
*Santagold
*The Mars Volta

So there you have it- a few musical treats to look forward to in the coming months.

What albums did I miss?

2 thoughts on “[Music Monday] Albums To Watch For

  1. Did Ben Folds have a good/new album last year?
    I am SO behind on awesome music it’s sad!
    Glad to hear about new upcoming shins and john mayer 🙂

    • All Ben released last year was his retrospective album (The Best Imitation of Myself) which was a three disk “best of” type thing.

      As far as I know there is nothing new on the horizon. 😦

Leave a Reply

