[thrifty tuesday] why shopping at thrift stores is oh-so-cool.

I’ve mentioned how much I love to shop at thrift/re-sale/consignment stores, but I haven’t yet explained why. There are five main reasons why I love to thrift and I think it is oh-so-cool.

*it is eco-friendly.

You know the old adage- reduce, reuse, recycle. While many of us are getting good at the the reducing and the recycling, the reusing can be hard. Re-sale shops offer us all an easy way to “reuse”. This way you’re saving the Earth- by reducing the amount of energy that would be needed to make new items and preventing those items from landing in a landfill. Sounds like a good deal to me!

*it is exciting.

Shopping in retail can be boring. Everything in the store can usually be found online, you probably already know someone who owns most of the items, and in many cases there are 2 or 3 colors of the item you want. It can be convenient, yes, but not exciting. Thrifting is thrilling because you never know what you’re going to find. The excitement of finding the perfect designer something with tags still on it is amazing! It feels like you won the jackpot.

*it allows for creativity/uniqueness.

As I mentioned in the second point, many times you already know someone who owns most of the items at regular retail stores. Do you really want to have the exact same things are your friends? At thrift stores you can often find something unique that you haven’t seen on anyone else you know. You stand out in a good way when you show your creativity through your clothes.

*the price is right.

If you are anything like me and my close friends, you’re broke right now. This economy sucks. In my book, I’d rather splurge on many other things than clothes- such as a nice dinner, movies, books, wine shared with friends…. Thrift stores make it possible for me to splurge on the things I want and still have a closet full of clothes. Everyone wins.

*often, the proceeds go to charity.

Although I do shop at a few re-sale/consignment stores that are not charitable in essence, many others are charitable entities such as Goodwill and ARC. The sole purpose of these stores is to help those in the community who are in need. I don’t know about you, but it feels pretty good to know that my love of new treasures is also helping people. Again, everyone wins.

As you can see, thrift store shopping is pretty dang cool.

Why do you shop at resale/consignment/thrift stores?

Leave a Reply

