[foodie friday] adventures in baking: vegan + gluten free chocolate chip cookies.

Today I made some experimental cookies, and I think they turned out pretty darn good! They had to be vegan, gluten free, and nut free, which made it quite a challenge. I couldn’t find that particular recipe, so I adapted one. Full disclosure, I didn’t love how the dough tasted and was worried they were going to taste weird…. I think it was the flax egg that I could taste…. BUT they are yummy once they are baked.

Vegan + Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies (Adapted from Oh She Glows)

Yield: 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup vegan margarine (I used Earth Balance sticks)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup pure cane sugar
  • 1 flax egg: 1 tbsp ground golden flax seed mixed with 3 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp vanilla (or vanilla extract)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill) or equivalent homemade mixture of gf flours ***Note: While most gluten free recipes call for the addition of xanthan and/or guar gum, after doing some research I decided that this is not necessary in cookies. I’m not an expert, but for this recipe, I’m sticking to that.***
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 bag vegan chocolate chunks (I used Enjoy Life)

1. Preheat oven to 350 and lightly grease a cooking sheet. In a small bowl, mix together the flax egg and set aside.

2. With an electric mixer or in a stand mixer, beat the vegan margarine until fluffy. Add the brown sugar and white sugar and beat for 1-2 minutes until creamy. Beat in the flax egg.

3. Beat in the remaining ingredients and fold in the chocolate chips.

4. Shape balls of dough and place on the baking sheet. (I find it helpful to use an ice cream scoop to ensure cookies are same size) Bake for 12-15 minutes. Allow to cool for 5 mins. on the baking sheet and then transfer to a cooling rack for another 10 minutes.

5. Enjoy! They’re especially good with coconut milk.

Happy Baking!

One thought on “[foodie friday] adventures in baking: vegan + gluten free chocolate chip cookies.

  1. I made these tonight and used a homemade gf flour mix (brown rice flour/tapioca starch/potato starch) and used Salba instead of flax, same amt. Added 1 egg and an extra 1 1/2C flour mix, used reg sized choc chips (about 1/3C). Used a baking teaspoon for their size and baked 7min (11 for larger cookies), used regular whipped butter. They didn’t fall apart!!!!! thank you! Mine did have a slight after taste too so I think I’ll try them sans any flax or chia or salba next time and keep the 1 egg.

Leave a Reply

